Sure, I made mistakes, even fainted once or twice, but everyone does. I had completed the single-player campaign and honed the skills I had gained in the series’ previous (Western) installment, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate. At the very least, I was competent, if not “gud.” 

And yet, here I was, my self-esteem under attack and my significant investment in the game minimized in the very public arena of online multiplayer.

A Marketplace of Multiplayer

The idea of being told I wasn’t good enough to play a game that I apparently liked was very scary to a young gamer like myself, deep in the throes of teenage insecurity. As I have aged, I have learned to shrug off such attacks, but it still stings, particularly when I have practiced and practiced, sometimes for hundreds of hours, offline.

Am I Right?

1. Play. 2. Ignore trolls. 3. ??? 4. Fun!